music i love

I have this issue with music. When I discover a new artist that I enjoy I find myself on an exploration to learn all that I can about their music. I’ve been known to buy several albums from one artist because of how a couple of songs moved me.

Essentially saying that when I fall in love with new music, I fall fast… and hard. I hope this is not an indicator of how love will happen in a relationship with a man.

I need to call my therapist

I need to lay down now

I need to ponder that one for a bit.

Because when I find an artist that moves my soul, that stirs in me that which was previously dormant, I need to know what’s connecting us. I need to know what it is about our dysfunction that meshes so well together.

Every Sunday when I’m working at my coffee shop I get to watch the sun rise. I get to see the world around me come to life, the neighborhood bathed in light, the promise of a new day for all. The only song that ever seems fitting for that renaissance moment is a song called Beautiful Dawn by a band named The Wailin’ Jennys – spend the $0.99 on iTunes or Amazon.com. There’s a YouTube video but it just feels super cheesy to me. I can’t figure out what the song means for them, but I know what it means for me and that’s another blog for another day – or maybe I’ll just keep that in my journal. Some things do not need to be put on the internet for all to know.

Here are a couple of verses from Beautiful Dawn by The Wailin’ Jennys:

“take me to the place where i don’t feel so small
take me where i don’t need to stand so tall
take me to the edge so i can fall apart
there’s only one way to mend a broken heart

“teach me how to see when i close my eyes
teach me to forgive and to apologize
show me how to love in the darkest dark
there’s only one way to mend a broken heart

“take me to the place where i feel no shame
take me where the courage doesn’t need a name
learning how to cry is the hardest part
there’s only one way to mend a broken heart

What do these words stir for you? Where does your heart go when you read these verses?

Thanks to JedMerk for introducing me to the delightful music of The Wailin’ Jennys.

One thought on “music i love

  1. I’m catching up on all the blog posts I missed. I first heard Beautiful Dawn sometime in my first few months at MHGS/in therapy, and I fell in love with it the same way you describe. I’ve often thought it’d be a good Mars Hill theme song… all about finding more life in the tears, at the edge, in the falling apart.

    -Christine

Leave a Reply

