single [and looking] in Seattle

One of the perks I have in working where I do is customer interaction; specifically, customers of the male gender without rings on a specific left handed finger. It may be objectifying them, but some of those men are very, very good looking.

I saw a man last weekend while I was working and immediately thought, “hmmm, now he is cute.” We chatted and laughed for a bit and then he went on his way. Of course 10 minutes after he left I realized that I should have given him my number, and thus immediately began planning on how I would bestow upon him the magical code that would connect his phone to mine the next time I saw him.

But now I have had too much time to think about it because now I wonder if he’s even single.

He could be in a committed relationship. Boyfriends/Girlfriends don’t usually wear rings.

Even before any of this, let’s recognize the fact that I’ve just assumed that he is a heterosexual man.

Complicated, eh?

So my opening line went from something like this…

“Do you have a girlfriend? Because I think you’re cute and I’d like to give you my number but I don’t want to be a home wrecker.”

…to something more like this…

” Are you hetero? Are you single? Wow, this is awkward… shit…”

Being single in Seattle is just hard.

3 thoughts on “single [and looking] in Seattle

Leave a Reply

