#Summer2012ToDo

A passage from my freshly turned-in Professional Ethics paper…

“I hope to be a person of justice, equality, care, compassion, and love for those around me as I live into the part of me that is a part of my character structure and also vocationally as a therapist. My desire for peace will not be at the expense of the wrestling with life; my longing for healing will not be at the expense of denying the existence of pain in the process; and my desire to see others live into the fullness of who they are will not be at the expense of their own dreams, desires, and longings.”

Can I get more idealistic?

In the meantime, I plan to bask in the glow of summer freedom. I will be working a lot, which is good because I need to pay bills and whatnots, but I have other plans of goodness that are waiting to unfold…

…reading books in the park, going to movies on rainy days, painting on the numerous blank canvases I have in my room, cooking, cleaning, working, spending time with friends, making new friends, possible trip to San Francisco or maybe a few days in Portland, sleeping, camping, lazy days at the beach with friends, picnics in the park, long walks through my neighborhood, setting up a self-care regimen so life won’t feel so chaotic once Internship begins, more regular blog posts, maybe going to New York (?), long phone calls with friends who live far away, train ride to B.C. (?), singing lots of karaoke, possibly joining the Seattle Ladies Chorus, reading for Internship, taking a first aid class, and maybe purchasing a swimsuit for the first time in about 7 years.

Such glory in the everyday; such beauty in the mundane that gets swept to the side during the school year.

*side rant: I wrote a lot of things on twitter that I want to do this summer and marked it with the hashtag #Summer2012ToDo. I went on twitter today and they are unsearchable. Isn’t that the point of a hashtag? to search for things easily? Can anyone help me out?*

What are your plans for the summer?

 

Selah, y’all. I’ll write more when I’ve got something to write about.

Leave a Reply

